Navigating the New Zealand music industry

Debut EP from Written By Wolves

in Industry by

Auckland hard rockers Written By Wolves have just dropped their debut EP Prologue, along with their latest single ‘Promise Me’.

The five track record includes their earlier singles ‘Oxygen’, ‘Timebombs and Hurricanes’ and ‘Starlight’, plus other new song ‘Affirmation’. Prologue was mixed by Thomas Oliver at BigPop Studios in Auckland, with Rich Bryan and the band themselves sharing production credits.

Written By Wolves – – Davie Wong, Bahador Borhani, Karl Woodhams, Oli Lyons and Michael Murphy – formed in 2015 and their songs have already amassed more than six million plays on Spotify.

Frontman Michael Murphy says the new single ‘Promise Me’ was inspired by a phone call he had with his father, who had just been diagnosed with cancer.

“The lyrics in both verses replicate the initial conversation between us and alternate between my dad and I narrating,” explains Murphy. “This is the most raw, emotional and honest song I have ever written lyrically but is probably the one I am most proud of to date.”

Prologue is available now on iTunes and Spotify.


Latest from Industry

Introducing Estrella

2018 Smokefreerockquest winner Estella Romagnoli has dropped her debut single ‘Break The Silence’.

Folk Tui for Burkitt

The Frank Burkitt Band has won this year’s Best Folk Artist Tui.

A salute to Al Park

Marlon Williams, Jordan Luck and Delaney Davidson are among those paying tribute
Go to Top