Navigating the New Zealand music industry

Alastair Burns wins top prize at NZ Music Manager’s Awards

in Industry by

Alistair Burns’ work with Marlon Williams has seen him win the Manager of the Year Award for the second year running.

The annual Music Managers Forum event was held at the Tuning Fork in Auckland and attracted a wide variety of industry professionals.

Burns was honoured for his work with Australian singer-songwriter and Williams, whose sophomore album Make Way For Love debuted at #1 in the NZ charts and #8 in Australia. Williams is due back in New Zealand later this month following an extensive worldwide tour.

The Emerging Manager of the Year statuette went to Chris Chetland and Callum McDougall (pictured below) for their co-management of Rei, whose A Place To Stand claimed the #1 spot on iTunes hip hop charts ahead of Kendrick Lamar’s Damn.

The international achievement award, meanwhile, went to Niel de Jong for his work with Te Reo metal band Alien Weaponry (pictured left), while the Breakthrough Manager of the Year prize was awarded to Rikihana Douglas for his achievements with the likes of Sachi and Matthew Young.

The full list of winners at the NZ Music Managers Awards were:

Recorded Music NZ Manager of the Year

Alastair Burns (Marlon Williams, Julia Jacklin, The Weather Station, Phantastic Ferniture)

NZ Music Commission International Achievement Award

Niel de Jong (Alien Weaponry)

Emerging Manager of the Year

Chris Chetland and Callum McDougall (Rei)

Breakthrough Manager of the Year

Rikihana Douglas (Sachi, Montell2099, LA Women, Matthew Young)

APRA AMCOS Self-Managed Artist of the Year

Tana Tupai and Avina Kelekolio (Tomorrow People)

JLT Best Independent Tour

Nick Atkinson ‘Round the Horn’ Tour (Hopetoun Brown)

Best Small Venue

Neck of the Woods, Auckland

Best Large Venue

The Civic , Auckland

NSL distributors of Shure & QSC in NZ Industry Champion Award

The NZ Music Foundation

MMF NZ Achievement Award

Pennie Black (HEX, The Echo Ohs)

Latest from Industry

Introducing Estrella

2018 Smokefreerockquest winner Estella Romagnoli has dropped her debut single ‘Break The Silence’.

Folk Tui for Burkitt

The Frank Burkitt Band has won this year’s Best Folk Artist Tui.

A salute to Al Park

Marlon Williams, Jordan Luck and Delaney Davidson are among those paying tribute
Go to Top